People/Web Search Calendar Emergency Info A-Z Index UVA Email University of Virginia

Skip to Content

current | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

ChE News - 2016

Also see Engineering School News for related U.Va. engineering news.

Prof. Geoffrey Geise was selected to receive the ORAU Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award. Each year, ORAU member institutions are permitted to nominate up to 2 junior faculty members for the award to enhance their research. Prof. Geise was nominated by U.Va. this year and was one of 35 junior faculty from across the nation to be selected for the award. He was chosen from 132 applicants from ORAU’s 121 institutions.

U.Va. ChE alumnus Barry Morris ('80) was selected by DuPont to receive the 2016 Pedersen Award. The award is named in honor of Nobel Prize Medalist Charles J. Pedersen and recognizes individuals who have made outstanding technical achievements that are helping make a difference to people around the world.

Pedersen Medalists are selected by The DuPont Fellows, a group of the highest technical professionals in the company. The medalists’ technical knowledge, skill and commitment in their respective areas have resulted in important new products for DuPont customers.

Barry Morris is an industry expert in polymers and an industry pioneer for polymer and process modeling. He has developed predictive models for packaging film markets, enabling customers to minimize package weight and cost while maintaining rigidity and package function through the use of multilayer structures that incorporate high-performance materials such as DuPont™ Surlyn® ionomer resins.

The Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Virginia is pleased to announce that Associate Professor Matthew Lazzara and Assistant Professor Steven Caliari will join the faculty this coming fall. Profs. Lazzara and Caliari will bring expertise to the faculty that will compliment departmental strengths in biotechnology and biomolecular engineering as well as materials engineering.

Congratulations to graduate student Joanna Adadevoh who recently won third place in the U.Va. Engineering Research Symposium (UVERS). Joanna is a member of the Ford research group.

U.Va. ChE alumnus Dr. Jason Sheehan (B.S. ChE '92) was recently recognized in U.Va. Today for his work at the UVA Health System's Gamma Knife Center. The article discusses recent work, published by Sheehan and co-workers, on radiosurgery for cerebral arteriovenous malformations.

Congratulations to Ben Huang (graduate student in the Davis Lab) for placing 2nd overall (University-wide) and winning the audience favorite category at the U.Va. Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition where he described his thesis research titled, "A New Approach to Cooling Hypersonic Vehicles."

Congratulations to U.Va. ChE undergraduate students Meghan Pinezich, Julia Sheehan, and Saehee Jung for winning Harrison Undergraduate Research Awards!

Meghan (pictured near right) and Julia (pictured far right) are currently 3rd year students conducting research in the Lampe and Ford research groups, respectively, and Saehee (not pictured) is a 2nd year student conducting research in the Green research group.

Prof. Giorgio Carta was selected to receive the Robert A. Moore, Jr. Award in Chemical Engineering. This award was established in 2007 by Bob Moore (Halsey Professor, 1997) to recognize a U.Va. chemical engineering faculty member whose teaching, research, and outreach activities during the previous twelve-month period best represent the interests of industry and best prepare students for industrial careers.

Prof. Gary Koenig and Dipankar Ghosh, an assistant professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering at Old Dominion University, along with their graduate students, are working to improve energy storage in batteries, combining Koenig’s expertise in battery material design with a new freeze-casting technique developed in Ghosh’s lab to create high-power solid-state batteries as descibed in a recent U.Va. Today article.